Posted on

Non-Sequitur #13: Three Months Later, I’m a Gal in Trouble

This is from Resonance of Fate? I don't play video games, I just thought the picture was cool.

Teena Marie passed away recently. She will be missed.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYVWoi72Ow4

My job called me. I went to work for three days. Had four days off. Went to work for three more days. I have the next four days off. Hanging in there…

Been seeing Hunger Strike Guy…once last week and again today. He was in the same spot, across the street from the bank I go to. I keep debating whether or not I should try to start a conversation with him.

I sent my nephew some comics right before Christmas. He still hasn’t gotten them. I’m angry at the US Mail. But you know what? I’m still going to send my other niece and nephew comics probably by the same method. Yeah, I know…what’s the definition of stupidity? Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results? Thing is, with the US Mail you WILL get different results. It just depends on how the stars are arranged.

Chicago Politics: Pissin’ me off this week! Let’s talk about something else!

Knight and Day: A spy movie starring Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz. I like both stars, but this film was crushingly mediocre. However, “Cameron” is a cool name for girl. If I had a daughter, I wouldn’t mind naming her Cameron. I DID have an ex who’s son was named Cameron. It works equally well for boys and girls. Oh, I was supposed to be talking about the movie…er, it wasn’t that great.

My aunt gave me a recipe for broccoli and cream of mushroom soup with cheese. Shut up! It’s tasty!

New Avengers #7: I was going drop this comic because of the filler- writing for trade-Bendis-isms , but I read a couple of spoiler reviews that actually made me curious. Stuff I’m confused about…Brand New Day aside, I thought most the New Avengers knew who Peter Parker was? Guess not. This next point was brought up in the actual comic, but yeah…Luke invented Hero for Hire. Why would he balk at taking a check from Steve Rogers? When I was a kid it was established that Avengers who lived at the mansion got $1000 for living expenses. Didn’t Luke know this during the BMB/Finch run? Why would he have an issue  now? Another thing, in the oral history in the back of the comic, it’s suggested that Hank Pym became Yellowjacket  as a publicity stunt for his marriage to the Wasp. I don’t have much of a problem with this version, but it contradicts Joe Casey’s Earth’s Mightiest Heroes that says Hank DID have a nervous breakdown and forgot who he was temporarily.   Stuff I liked… Stuart’s art is still beautiful. What made the comic for me though was the two page spread of nanny interviews. Aaron Stack ( “it’s like Shakespeare with lots more punching!” ), the appearance of US 1 Trucker, and my favorite; Nighthawk declaring that the team is really the Defenders under a different name.

Avengers Children’s Crusade #4: Very nice art by Jim Cheung. Nice dialogue from Allan Heinberg. The story is progressing at a nice pace. Dr Doom makes his appearance. He’s due to marry the the Scarlet Witch, but is it true love or something else? I wish more comics were as well written as this. Each issue feels like a chapter in a larger story, but so far nothing feels like unnecessary filler. The biggest flaw is Wolverine’s speech seems to be written like Wolverine from 1977. You know, “Grr, I argue with folks and talk about killing, grr!” But for the most part, this is a very solid comic.

Tank Girl Bad Wind Rising #1: By Alan Martin and artist Rufus Dayglo. Booga and Tank split up and some people are after them and some other characters are involved and blah,blah, blah… I’m disappointed to say it’s not as funny or outrageous as I expected. The whole thing was rather “Meh”. Maybe it’ll pick up next issue.

Ok…I’m listening to an old mix tape with everything from David Bowie to Bill Withers to Cher on it and my beer buzz is starting to kick in, so I’ll catch you all later.

Hey! Cameo!  Sing with me! “If it’s music we can use it we need to dance, we don’t have the time for psychological romance…”

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

2 responses to “Non-Sequitur #13: Three Months Later, I’m a Gal in Trouble

  1. Deemar

    Dude you been kicking ass here love it!

    We need to talk

Leave a Reply

