Posted on

Non-Sequitur #17: I Come From The Land of Ice and Snow

Chicago Blizzard, I think this pic is from 1967.

It’s snowing right now! Big mid-west blizzard watch, baby! It’s harsh so get the eff out the way!

So, I go to work today and the power is out. The snow hasn’t even begun and the power is out. Pretty obvious omen, or not. A  guy gave me..Whoa! What was that? That was thunder right as I type this blog! The gods are angry…a guy gave me a lantern so I could go to the restroom. And yes, I did resist the urge to do the Green Lantern oath while no one else was around. The supervisor told us to sit tight. Most of the other workers went to one of the conference rooms that had big windows, so they wouldn’t have to sit in the dark. I stayed at my desk and took a nap for a half an hour. The power came back on and we all had to change seats and restart everything. Of Course, my phone jack wouldn’t  work  so I had to stretch the cord to the  jack next to me. Then my computer had to re-install software which took what seemed like another 15 minutes. Then I couldn’t get to the program I needed to be at and the supervisor who seemed already stressed out had to give me a new URL. Supervisor told us some new rules regarding procedures which I immediately forgot as I was doing what she told us we had to change (I’m old, lemme alone). Despite all this, I think I got a substantial amount of work done. AND they bought us coffee and donuts! Eff, yeah!

Random Chicago Politics: Carol Moseley Braun snaps on someone…again. First she tries to grill Rahm Emmanuel on whether or not he told someone from the NRA to “take take the tampon out of your mouth” and “let’s talk tampons”, now she just told a minor rival, Patricia Van Pelt-Watkins, “You didn’t know where I was  for the last 20yrs is because you were strung out on  crack.” Carol, Carol, Carol…

Random Food Item: There’s a civil suit against Taco Bell stating that their Ha! Was that lightning? It ain’t nuthin’ nice outside…stating that their beef is only 35% meat. Taco Bell counters that their meat product is 88% meat and the rest is water and seasoning. I dunno…as someone who’s eaten their soft tacos, that 35% claim is believable to me.

Random Educational Item: Best Of Our Knowledge  on NPR recently did a show on graphic novels. I’m not sure they really gave any understanding on what graphic novels are or what are some books you should pick up, however…the show did feature some interesting segments. There’s an interview with Jules Fieffer, an overview of Will Eisner’s work, and and interview with R, Crumb and his daughter Sophie. http://www.wpr.org/book/110130a.cfm

Some comics I got, but didn’t read over the weekend…

Detective Comics #872: I really like the cover. It’s  a close up of Batman in a gas mask and there’s a reflection of a hand holding a raised crowbar. If you know the history of Batman, it’s really powerful. If you don’t it’s still cool and slick looking. As a visual, it’s moody, dark , and intriguing…it makes the viewer wonder what’s going on. I also like the story. It concerns this Batman (Dick Grayson) investigating a circle of rich ghouls who bid  on crime artifacts. It’s suspenseful and makes me want to pick up the next issue. Minor nic-pick…a not nice guy dies and Dick and Babs cover it up and commit cyber-identity fraud. I know the man was a bad guy, but they still broke the law. It’s still a good story, I’m just saying…

Secret Avengers #9: Steve Rogers! Shang Chi! John Steele! Fist fight on a rooftop! Action!! Suspense! I can’t wait to see the end of this story. The back pages promote Marvel’s Point One Initiative where they force fans to buy an EXTRA  issue, but pretend they’re giving you a break cuz the .01 issue is lower priced. Effers! I actually buy SA every month! Why are you effing with me?

The New York Five #1: The story of five college age young women who uh, live in New York. Interesting set up and I like that the art is in black and white. It reminds me of the indie/alternative comics I read back in the 90’s. It’s a weird thing to say, but I feel the story would have had more impact if Ryan Kelly’s art was just a little bit… “rawer’? It’s not bad, it just seems to me maybe almost too slick for the story. Minor nit-picks: Riley thinks her sister’s band is the best…I think it would be funny if either the narrative or another character would state that they really aren’t that good a’la  Hopey’s band from Love and Rocket’s. Also, Lona’s behavior is supposed to be odd and quirky? It’s criminal and stalker-ish. I’d call the cops! I hope this is dealt with in realistic manner. On the other hand, I’m in… I hope Vertgo doesn’t go under cuz this is the sort of thing that has the potential to reach a wider audience.

Now I..Hey, it stopped for moment.Should I go out and maybe get some beer? Maybe I’ll just go  to bedanyway, Metallica and stuff…


oh, I hear more thunder

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

Leave a Reply

