Posted on

Non-Sequitur #22: Trapped In a World He Never Made

I took lots of pictures at C2E2, but I can't upload them because I'm having issues with my software. Fuggin' computers,

So, completely on a whim, I decided to go to C2E2, the big comic book and pop culture convention in Chicago this weekend. I had no plans on going, but the thing that made me change my mind is reading an article in a local paper that said Rick Bayless would be attending. Rick is a local chef with a PBS TV show. I think he was asked to be the official White House chef, but he turned the job down. Now, I had little interest in seeing Bayless, but the idea that someone had sense of humor enough to include him on a panel called “Food and Comics” made me think maybe this wouldn’t be a stuffy overpriced affair. I last time I went to a comic book convention was years ago in the early 90’s. I went with a couple of friends and the thing was small, crowded and boring. There were no interesting displays and many of the dealers seemed like they were there just to exploit the fans. That day killed my desire to go comic book conventions.

C2E2 in contrast, was a blast the day I went. Big, easy to move around. Lots of nice people who were having fun. Professionals who behaved a courteous manner. Lots of events catering to a wide variety of passions. I picked up a nice haul of random comics. It’s easy to see why some folks are suggesting it’s a major competitor with the San Diego Con which has been king for decades.

I planned on taking pictures. I found an old digital camera, but it’s not taking still photos, so  bought a cheap new camera, but the software is giving me a hard time. So, here are a few random musing that I remember off the top of my head.

Saw a display of the new Acura which is the official vehicle of SHIELD tying into the new Thor movie. I was going to get a SHIELD ID card, but the line was moving too slow and I wanted to buy comics.

Met a couple of the guys who do the Superfly http://panelsonpages.com/?category_name=superfly-pcn comics podcast selling comics for their store. I told them I liked their show and they told me that I was the first person to mention the podcast. They gave me a promotional pen and told me they were doing a wrestling show and told me to check out where the some of the other folks Panel on Pages  ( I’ve listened to the PrincessCast  http://panelsonpages.com/?category_name=princesscast-pcn ) were broadcasting. When I went over though, their was a crowd of Green Lantern  people crowding around so…

I saw two of the iFanboy http://www.ifanboy.com/ guys. One time they looked like they were discussing business with someone, when I came back, they were talking to a dad and his son. I realized the only guy’s name I could remember at the time was “Josh” but I couldn’t remember which guy was in fact Josh, so I didn’t introduce myself. Yeah, I kinda suck.

I saw John Siuntries of the Word Balloon cast http://www.wordballoon.com/ talking to  someone. I couldn’t think of a good question to ask him.

Saw two of the Comic Book Club guys interviewing an artist on camera. What was interesting was the fact that a little girl in a yellow dress was watching the taping and was fascinated by the lights and cameras. I think she might have caught a glimpse of herself in the playback.

I saw two different guys dress as the new Aqualad. One was the comic book Lad and the other was the animated Lad. Comic book lad was ok but kinda skinny, but animated lad totally rocked it. Totally fit and his costume was dead on. The only thing is, coloring his hair the color of the cartoon character’s actually made it seem like he had gray hair and was older than he really was. I wanted to get his picture, but he disappeared too quickly.

There were tattoo artists there! Fuck yeah! Actually, lots of the guests had tats, so it’s not THAT weird, but still, I didn’t expect to see so many tattoo artists with booths.

There was a thing with people playing the Harry Potter sports game. Quiddish (sp)? I’m too lazy to look up the actual spelling.

There was a speed dating thing going on.

I met some local indie artists from Xigency Studios http://xigencystudios.com/default.aspx. Had I not already spent most of the money I could afford to spend I would have given a few of their titles a try. I did get on their mailing list. Chi-Town!

I didn’t stick around for any of the big panels or announcements.

There was a guy selling the recent issue of Archie introducing a gay character for $10. I saw this same issue on the stands as recently as 2 weeks ago for cover price.

Also, I grew up on the Avengers. As much as I love the team, there’s just no way I’m going to spend $9.50 for a West Coast Avengers burger.

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

Leave a Reply

