Posted on

Non-Sequitur #37: Ok, So Trying This Again

Nice drawing from Phil Noto. Go to his website and dig his art http://philnoto.tumblr.com/

Yeah… just as I say I’m going to commit to doing more prose  columns, I’m all a sudden working 40 plus hours at work again. I literally can’t remember the exact last time I worked a full 40 hour work week. It had to be well over a year, maybe a year and a half. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining…not by a long shot. My work situation had gotten really scary lately. Going through a couple weeks of no work, a couple a weeks of 16 hr work weeks…it’s unsettling. Not being sure if I can go for unemployment, I wasn’t sure about how to deal with the near future. If I only had myself to worry about, that would be one thing, but I have family responsibilities, so circumstances got pretty tight. At my job, during a good year, things start slowing down around holiday season. This hasn’t been a good year, so yeah…I’m going to grab all the hours of work I can for as long as I can.

This “Occupy Wall Street” thing actually caught me off guard. I thought like ok, some folks will carry signs for a few days, then it’ll blow over and we’ll all be on to the next thing. However, that’s not what happened…it’s really grown legs and inspired people all over the country including here in Chicago. I’m not going to pretend that I’m the most “fight the establishment” guy on the block, but I am glad that this protest at least focuses on the bosses and the corporations. So often when the country’s financial situation comes up, people tend to blame their neighbors or poor people. It’s like when people are mad at illegal aliens for “stealing” their jobs. I always think, “Why are you more mad at him than at the boss who hired him? The immigrant doesn’t have any power or control, shouldn’t you be mad at the guy who won’t pay you a fair wage? He’s  screwing you and exploiting and the other guy. The BOSS gave your job to a guy he can get away with screwing over.” But maybe that’s part of human nature. We get mad at the guy he see as immediate competition.

Exiles on Wall Street

Random Comic Book Reading in Public: I saw a guy on the train reading the new Ultimates comics. I was on my way to work. I was going to strike up a conversation, but my stop was coming up and I didn’t want to be like, “Hey, I see you’re reading comics,” and then leave. I didn’t want him to think I was trying to subtly mocking him or something.

Random Cool Song Muzak: At work they pipe in music throughout the hall. Mostly it’s middle of the road Top-40, but every once in awhile something odd will pop out. This time it was Eighteen by Alice Cooper. Makes me remember when I bought the vinyl version of the  album this was on for a dollar back in the 90’s, then it makes me remember seeing THIS on MTV  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3YDfcDzCoc  I’m sorry, but drunk Alice Cooper forgetting the words to  his own song is CLASSIC.

Random Weird Thing in the Newspaper:  A local alternative newspaper (The Reader) ran a brief human interest piece  on an “ex-con/actor”. I read the name and almost fainted. I was like “Oh, my god! This guy and his brother indirectly got me into comics!!”  Long story short, this guy’s brother was being threatened in a bar, this guy shot one of the assailants, the assailant turned out to be a cop. Dude of course went to jail. Anyway, the comics connection comes in this way, I was classmates with Dude’s younger brother who invited me to their house one day. They brought out all their comic books and I was floored. I was just taken by all the characters and artwork and comics became  just something I wanted to be into. I haven’t seen either of them since I was 14 and I’d be surprised if they remembered me, but yeah..wow http://www.chicagoreader.com/chicago/fancypants-movie-convict-actor-patrick-gleason/Content?oid=4769343

Random Overheard On the Bus: A young lady was telling her friend that for Halloween she wanted to be either Amelia Earhart or Amy Pound. Her friend said exactly what I was thinking which was, “How is anyone going to know that you’re Amy Pound?”

A million years ago, I had this 7 inch record.

 

 

 

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

Leave a Reply

