Posted on

Non-Sequitur #40: All That Pressure Got You Down

Happy Veteran Day's weekend. WW2 Marvel heroes by Alan Davis

Strange week. Sorta.

The Penn State thing is just so sad and tragic and infuriating.

Someone at Occupy Oakland got shot.

Heavy D passed away. Wow, it’s not that no one makes fun rap anymore, lots of folks do…it’s just that if an artist does a pop or dance hip-hop song these days, he gets called soft or a “sell-out”. Anyway, here’s to a time when folks were a little more open to what they would accept from hip-hop groups. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNEgUPKxk7A&ob=av3e

Random Internet Frustration: Ok, so sometimes I go to bed listening to BBC radio. A couple of nights ago I woke up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, and I half  heard them tease an upcoming interview with legendary music producer Niles Rodgers.  They used an audio clip of Niles talking about how he used to read  Freak Brothers Comix   to  Michael Jackson.  I’ve been going crazy because I can’t find that audio.

Random Cool Website: I did  stumble on a fun comic book blog. Ms Snarky’s Awesometastic Comic Book Blog.  Basically humorous looks at old school comics. Check it out. http://mssnarky.wordpress.com/

Random Music Thing: You know…maybe I’ve got strange tastes, but… in theory… I  thought a collaboration between Lou Reed and  Metallica   could be awesome. The guy who wrote the first two Velvet Underground  albums and the guys who helped invent  thrash metal, should have been crazy awesome cool, but I’ve heard a few songs and um…they’re very NOT crazy awesome cool.

I’m behind on comics…

Frankenstein Agent of Shade #1:  I know some people have accused this title of being a watered down  Hellboy  comic and I don’t think they are far off. However, I kinda feel about this the same way I feel about rock bands like say, Oasis.  When I listen to Oasis’s music I hear the Beatles, The Who and the Kinks, but that doesn’t lessen my enjoyment of  the song Champagne Supernova.     It’s derivative, but derivative in a good way. It’s a fun comic. I might get the more recent issues.

Stormwatch #3: I’m still enjoying the story. I just wish I liked the art more.

Animal Man #3: Still digging both the art and the story. Continues to be the surprise hit of the season for me.

Speaking of Niles, there’s a a kinda funny story about how they originally wrote this song after being denied access at Studio 54. The original chant was F*ck Off.

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

One response to “Non-Sequitur #40: All That Pressure Got You Down

  1. PhilBetaGAMMA ⋅

    On Heavy D: Never followed his music, much, but thought his counsellor character on Boston Public, was cool!
    On Lou-tallica: “And all the “metal” girls say; ‘da do da do do do sscccrreeeeeetcchhh” What’s that about oil and water?
    On Nile: One of the original right time, right place guys, From Chic, 2 (co) producing ppl like Madonna, Bowie, etc…
    On AnimalMan: ‘Still digging both the art & the story”? l see one of the 1st things we’re gonna have 2 discuss on skype! 🙂

Leave a Reply

