Posted on

Non Sequitur #41: Paint The Devil On The Wall

Josie from the Pussycats by Jason Pearson

So like I wasted the entire day today. I originally planned to do a lot of things this Friday, but I spent last  night drinking and just didn’t feel like doing anything when I got up this morning. I didn’t get any business done, didn’t see anyone, didn’t buy any comics. I suck.

 

Some random work stuff…

 

Hmm..I saw a fox at my job’s parking lot. He darted out from behind a car and scurried across the street. I’ve seen rabbits in the area before and a couple of possum but this was the first time I saw a fox. I guess it was kind of neat.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2k1-kh6HbHQ

A couple of people at my job have birthdays that fall on this weekend, so we had cake and sang Happy Birthday. It was chocolate with whipped cream and strawberries.  Yummy. Very neat. There were cupcakes too, but I didn’t have one.

On the way home changing from the bus to the train I saw a couple of older guys at the station. They were maybe in their late 50’s and dressed  kinda biker-ish(?) 70’s-ish(?) They had jean jackets, beards…one might have had cowboy boots.  One dude was definitely giving off a Dennis Hooper vibe. But like old Dennis Hooper wearing young Dennis Hooper’s clothes. Odd and neat at the same time.

I wrote down  on a piece of paper the words “Aquaman”, “Target”, and “9:20” .  Aquaman  is one of the comics I’ll probably buy this weekend. I was going to go to Target retail store, but forget it. I’m racking my brain trying to remember why I wrote down 9:20. It’s killing me that I don’t know what this was supposed to mean.

Batman,Year One:  I saw the animated film recently. It was pretty faithful to the source material, Frank Miller’s comic book reworking of Batman’s beginning. They did lose some of Bruce Wayne’s narrative which makes it seem more like what many fans have said over the years, that it’s almost more Jim Gordon’s story than Batman’s origin. I felt the voice actor for Batman/Bruce Wayne  ( Ben McKenzie ) could have been more impressive, but overall I enjoyed the movie.

Green Lantern:  I finally saw the Ryan Reynolds film. I totally see why a lot of people were disappointed  with this movie. I thought it started off ok, but there was like almost an hour of Hal Jordan “doubting himself” and having to “face responsibility” and dealing with “fear”. I was like, “What’s all this man-child emo stuff? Bring back those space monsters!” I agree with people who felt that Sinestro was the best thing about the film. On a whole though, this movie was not neat.

Today of course is the day we set aside to worship our overlord, Rebecca Black. I honor her greatness by sharing this song with you.

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

One response to “Non Sequitur #41: Paint The Devil On The Wall

  1. PhilBetaGAMMA ⋅

    Yeah…l had that;” did nothing kinda day, 2day” Started off, gangbusters, but devolved quickly in2 a four limbed piece of protplasm. Megadeth covering Black’s Friday? “SACRlLWEDGE” Dontcha know, Blactk is beautiful? (totally meant in a non sexual way) 🙂 As 4 thr GL movie; My take on it was…it coulda done w/o all the space opera stuff, it certainly didn’t need Parallax (which was an editorial POS, even in the comics)…They should’ve made Hammond, the central threat, and had Sinestro showing a growing resentment 2ward Hal, because of Hal’s ability 2 adapt 2 things quickly! While Sinestro was no doubt the best thing in the movie, his motivation 4 putting on the suit, was non-exsistant, thus utter BS!!!
    Cool write up, Ed. l really need 2 be getting back n2 my blog, as well.

    Peace
    Phil

Leave a Reply

