Posted on

Non-Sequitur #48: It’s All Gonna Be A Stone Gas

Don Cornelius passed away.

More free food at work

Another co-worker had a birthday. My supervisor made fudge. I only ate two small pieces, so I did not get fat this week. Take that, gluttony!

Tom Brady and Eli Manning are giving me the finger

In the past, there’s been times when I was super excited about the Superbowl and there’s been times when I was happy about one team and apathetic towards the other. Then there was times where I didn’t care about either team, but was enthusiastic about the event. This is the first time I am super indifferent about the whole thing. That probably says more about me than it does about this past football season. I am a bad sports fan and hence, a bad Chicagoan. I suck.

I bought some comics and few of them I actually read…

Archie #629:  This one is a little better than last issue, mostly because the storytelling is clearer. Kiss returns Archie from a zombie back into his normal human form. The band explains what the zany monsters are up to and what will happen if they take over. Funniest moment that’s funny because it’s not funny: Kevin Keller shows up near the end of the issue and chases zombies away by playing loud music on an old boombox. A boombox! Do teenagers still walk around with boomboxes these days? Still, this issue was more fun than last.

Secret Avengers #21.1 : A so called “jumping on” point featuring Captain America and Hawkeye. The story is ok and the art is alright.  Decent for what it was, I just had a problem with Cap feeling that after all their time together, now all of a sudden he needed to “test”  Clint.

Defenders #3: Fun!  Story by Matt Fraction…in  this issue Null, The Breaker of Worlds is dealt with, but we are left with a neat cliff hanger for the next chapter. The Silver Surfer gets a cool moment. We get a hint of the true nature of Prester John ( I have old Defenders comics from the 70’s so I think I get it). The art by Terry and Rachel Dodson is fine throughout. I’m looking forward to the next issue.

That’s all I got for now. See ya, next time!

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

2 responses to “Non-Sequitur #48: It’s All Gonna Be A Stone Gas

  1. PhilBetaGAMMA ⋅

    Eventually l’ll p/u no #2 of Defenders, but l’m pretty much done w/ that title, as of ish #3, which, while decent looking, just bored me 2 tears.
    And yeah, we lost a treasure in Mr. Cornelius. Hardly a week would go by, where l wasn’t glued 2 a seat, watching Soul Train! l remember finally seeing his royal badness on their, when Don loosened up the reigns a bit, and let a revolving door of guest hosts, shine. That week, 4 his purple highness, the host(ess) was HollyRobinsonPeete

    love peace & soul
    Phl

Leave a Reply

