Posted on

Non-Sequitur # 50: What Was the Question

I went to work semi-ill one day last week, but I was still able to be productive. I was proud of myself  that day. I rule.

I arrived at work a little early another particular day, so that I could work on some stuff for the IMJ site http://inveteratemediajunkies.com/ without it interfering with my job. I accidently hit the wrong key and lost the draft I was trying to compose.  A half hour’s work down the drain. I suck.

They offered us an opportunity to work a shift this past Saturday. My hours have cut for long time now, so I jump at the chance.  The supervisor bought us pizza. It was orgasmic. Life is good.

I went to work yesterday not feeling my best. It took me a few hours to really get going. I’m back to sucking.

Aquaman #6:  Aquaman’s wife takes the starring role in this was a very Mera-centric issue. There are a few minor quibbles but I thought the comic was decent. The sexual harassment scene seemed a little forced and I wonder if writer Geoff Johns will follow up on the fact that Mera resisted arrest or will the matter just be dropped. I did enjoy the creative way that Mera dealt with a dangerous gunman.  All in all while not great, I thought this issue was ok.

Archie # 630:  This was the concluding chapter of the Archie meets Kiss storyline.While this was the most enjoyable issue, I was a bit disappointed with the overall arc. I just felt it was told kind of sloppily.Things just seem to happen at random with no build up or explanation of why or how certain events were taking place. I still was able to have a certain amount fun regardless, because..well…it’s Archie meets Kiss! It still had a kind of goofy charm to it.

Comics veteren John Severin passed away last week. Although he was revered for his work on war comics and westerns, I first noticed his work on Cracked Magazine  and reprints of the stuff he did for Marvel Comics.  He will be missed.

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

Leave a Reply

