Posted on

Non-Sequitur #51: Girl You Know it’s True

Catwoman by Darwyn Cooke

Ed is a cranky old man

I was at the corner store were I buy burritos and submarine sandwiches when a group of teen-aged girls came in. They were a little loud and just seemed to be kind of wandering around. I tried to ignore them, but I could still hear their voices even though they were at the other end of the store. Eventually, the security guard told them to leave the store. The girls were saying stuff like, “Why?!” “Who’s he talking to?!” The guard was just like, “Because you’re being disruptive.” One of the girls replied, “Your FACE is being disruptive!” Once upon a time I might have chuckled to myself over this scene, but now I have to admit I was a little glad that he threw the hoodlums out. Yes, I’ve gotten old and become that guy.

Ed goes “Uh…”

Out of the blue, my bank calls me the other day. The lady introduces herself as one of the agents that has helped me a few times in the past and asked me if everything was ok. I’m like, um…everything’s fine? She asked me if I got the checks that I ordered weeks back and asked if there was any other service they could provide. I then realized that she was following up on a business transaction. It was just weird because literally the first thing she said was, “Hello, Mr Jackson this is Blah-Blah from Such-and Such…are you ok?” Like the way a friend would if he were concerned about your well being. “Dude, are you ok? We haven’t seen around in awhile…you’re not sick are you? We were gettin’ worried!” So, yeah… everything’s peachy.

Ed dissects pop culture

So I was listening to the radio and they were talking about the opening of Carrie:The Musical. I guess it was on Broadway years ago, but wasn’t successful. Now they’ve re-tooled the show. One of the actresses was talking about doing the special effects in a way that didn’t make the show campy. I thought…but doesn’t the mere fact that you’re doing a stage musical based on a horror movie from the 70’s in and of itself make the show campy? I’m not hatin’, I’m just saying…

Ed walks down memory lane 

Rest In Peace Davy Jones. I don’t care how fake you think they were, they had some good pop songs.

Things that warm Ed’s cold dead heart

So I’m coming home from the comic book store and I see a mom walking into a restaurant with her two young daughters. The smaller one was bouncing around and waving at random people. She tried to wave to a another little girl who was inside of the restaurant sitting by the window. The second little girl didn’t wave but she did smile back. Little kids trying to make other little kids happy..ok, I’m corny but it made me happy. Shut up.

Neil Diamond wrote this song! Recognize!

 

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

Leave a Reply

