Posted on

Non-Sequitur #32: I Didn’t Come To Bring You Down

Joan Jett! Yeah...Joan Jett.

So, I’m walking home the other day and I pass a group of mostly young clean cut folks. They were all in similar T-Shirts and shorts. The  man who seemed to be the leader was maybe about 30-ish. They all appeared to be so happy to be outside and walking around together, I wondered if maybe they were apart of a church or something. I went into a McDonald’s and as I was walking to the door, I saw a security guard throwing out a beggar. I placed my order and waited for my food. Who should come in after not too long? You guessed it…the happy group along with the beggar. The leader made a point to go up to the guard and tell him that the beggar was with their group and that the beggar wasn’t going to ask for change and that everything was going to be cool. I could tell that  the guard didn’t want to let the beggar back in the building, but couldn’t do anything about it. While waiting, I overheard them say they that were indeed from some out of town church group. I was like, “Heh, the church folks challenged authority and won by being nice to somebody.” Fight the Power!

Random “El” Story: A few days before that, I sat next to an old man riding home on the “El”. He wasn’t neccessarily drunk, but I could tell he was a drinker. He told me that he was riding the El because he was trying to kill time until his wife left home to go to work. They’d been arguing lately and he was trying to avoid her. The reason they’d been arguing is that he’s 60-something and she wanted him to stop getting high, but he wanted to keep doing what he does. Geez, man…how terrible it must be to have a wife that doesn’t want you to die from narcotics abuse. (sarcasm)

Random Beer Purchase: I don’t normally drink Guinness beer, but a couple of days ago a bought a pack. I opened a can and took a hearty swig and I’m like, “What the f**k is this little ball doing in there?!”  I guess Guinness is brewed slightly different than other brews and there’s nitrus or something in the ball to help the beer keep a hearty head when the can is opened. So…there’s that.

Composer Henry Mancini. Whether you know it or not, you’ve heard his songs. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRoq9MzMgoU&feature=fvsr and ESPECIALLY this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wK-b5PLhrEI&feature=related

A couple of comics, I guess…

Batman Inc #7: I enjoyed this comic more than I thought I would. Batman is still recruiting his international army for the upcoming battle against the Leviathan. In this issue  he meets The Man of Bats. At first I was afraid that Grant Morrison might go for some sort of Native American noble savage stereotype, but gladly that’s not quite the direction he went for this story. The story does address the poverty that’s prevalent in many Native American communities. The art is by Chris Burnham, kinda Frank Quietly-ish. Also, I’m pretty sure the cartoon on the TV the baby is watching is Go Go Gophers from the early 60’s (?). Nice enough issue. I’m still on board.

Fear Itself #4: *SPOILER*  Ok, I bought the first issue because of Stuart Immonen’s art, but I haven’t been following it. The writing is by Matt Fraction. I got this one because I couldn’t believe that they’d actually kill Bucky right after killing Ultimate Peter Parker. I was thinking, Buck’s probably just in a coma or something. Well, I know there’s still a few issues left in the story plus whatever’s going on in the main Cap title, but Buck does appear to be dead. I’m slightly pissed. Not just cuz I was starting to like Bucky, but because it’s such a cliche! It’s been done so many times before, “hero-reclaims-the mantle-after-his replacement-dies.”  It’s been done before in Captain America comics!! I know it’s superheroes, it’s genre entertainment, but geez…can you at least try to make feel not so stale? Stuart’s art is great.

Yeah! Joan Jett! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6LwOntjzrw

About ed2962

I don't want to drink my whiskey like you do. I don't need to spend my money but still do.

Leave a comment